Homemade Peanut Butter and Soda Bread

                           

I’m a huge fan of peanut butter. When I was in New York a couple of summers ago I went to a cafe that specifically served peanut butter and jelly sandwiches “just like mom used to make them”. I think I should have taken that literally as I was served a peanut butter and jelly sandwich made from a sliced brown supermarket loaf with a stick of carrot on the side. Humph. I was expecting a little more umph than humph but I think it was a very authentic mom style peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Anyway, I love things peanuty and have made my own version of peanut butter cups and recently made peanut butter. I’ve been wanting to make bread for a long time and will definitely sign up for a course soon. I’ve always been put off by growing/ feeding your own yeast, rising the dough in a warm area over night, basically a lack of knowledge! But there is one bread out there that is instant: soda bread. I’d had an idea to make peanut butter as I’d make peanut cream to go with a squishy chocolate cake recently so I wanted to make bread to have a completely homemade breakfast.

What you need…

For the soda bread:

200g wholemeal flour

140g self-raising white flour

Half a tsp salt

Half a tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 x pot of buttermilk (284ml)

For the peanut butter:

100g plain unsalted peanuts

80g soft brown sugar

50ml sunflower oil

What you need to do:

1. Heat the oven to 200C.

2. Mix the flours, salt and bicarbonate of soda in a big bowl. Make a well in the middle and pour the buttermilk into it.

3. Mix these ingredients together until combined. If it feels really sticky add a little more flour.

4. Once combined turn the dough out onto a floured surface and knead it for a minute. Use your hands to nicely round the dough and score a cross onto the top with a knife.

5. Place the dough on a lightly floured piece of parchment paper on an oven tray and bake it in the preheated oven for 30 minutes until nicely browned.

6. While the bread bakes you can make the peanut butter. Put the peanuts and soft brown sugar in a blender and grind them until the nuts are bitty.

7. Tip the mixture into a bowl and pour the sunflower oil onto it. Mix the oil well into the sugary nutty mix until you get a paste.

8. Slice the loaf, slather it in peanut butter and devour!

Leave a Reply

