Brussels Sprouts, Mackerel and Candied Citrus Peel

I made my first Christmas cake this year so have raisins, currants, sultanas and candied citrus peel in abundance. I’ve been thinking of different ways to use these little fruity pieces so made a delicious supper using the candied citrus peel. Keeping with the Christmas theme I also used brussels sprouts and I know my opinion of them is in the minority: I like them. I cut the sprouts into three slices length ways and cooked them in a pan with the lid on in a bit of balsamic vinegar then ate them with honeyed mackerel and candied citrus peel. The citrus contrasted really well with the sulphur of the sprouts and might even be a good way of serving them to the sprout loathing masses!

3 thoughts on “Brussels Sprouts, Mackerel and Candied Citrus Peel

Leave a Reply

