Coffee Biscuits

I bought some coffee recently from the Algerian Coffee Stores (Old Compton Street, W1D) – Velluto Nero (Black Velvet) which is described as smooth and silky and I see from their website is one of their top sellers. I was tempted to try their cardamom infused blend but they add it separately so I thought I could do it myself. That reminds me, I had a seriously scrumptious Aztec inspired hot chocolate from Paul A. Young recently which had ground cardamom in it. There is a selection of spices to choose from to be added to the drink. I’m glad cardamom is doing the rounds, it was excellent in the hot chocolate. When I got home and made a cafetiere of the smooth and silky black velvet it tasted…burnt! What? It even smelled burnt! Oh dear. So I drank a few sips of it which put me off coffee for a few days and decided to make biscuits with it instead. I know your food is as good as its ingredients but in this case the biscuits did not taste of burnt coffee. Funnily enough I tried the coffee again and it has mellowed. It no longer tastes burnt!

This amount makes about 25 biscuits.

What you need:

100g butter

50g brown sugar

50ml very strong coffee from freshly ground beans

120g plain flour

For the icing: icing sugar and more strong coffee

What you need to do:

1. Heat the oven to 180C (fan).

2. Make a very strong coffee either by making an espresso or a cafetiere with lots of ground coffee and not much water.

3. Cream the butter and sugar together in a bowl with a fork.

4. Let the coffee cool, then add it to the bowl and combine it with the butterry sugar mixture.

5. Add the flour bit by bit blending it in. When you have added all the flour use your hands to combine all the ingredients really well.

6. Sprinkle flour on a wooden board, and on a rolling pin, and break the ball of dough into two. Roll one out to about half a centimetre thickness and cut it into triangles or whatever shape you like and put them on a baking tray lined with baking paper. Repeat with the other ball.

7. Bake the biscuits in the oven for 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned.

8. Make the icing by adding strong coffee to a bowl of icing sugar drop by drop and mixing it to a smooth consistency. Dribble it on the cooled biscuits.

9 thoughts on “Coffee Biscuits

Leave a Reply

