Quick Lunch: Roasted Aubergine, Sweet Potato and Green Leaves

There’s a great little restaurant in Islington called The Afghan Kitchen. It has a short and simple menu and is a very casual place to eat with customers sharing tables. They do a dish with roasted aubergine, it is simply sliced in half length ways and put in the oven. I love it like this! So simple and it melts in the mouth. When I work from home I like to make something like this for lunch so yesterday I roasted aubergine and sweet potato for about 30 minutes at 180C and served them with green leaves. Easy and tasty. There’s no need to slather ingredients in sauces, I just drizzled olive oil on top and let the flavours be true to themselves. Goodness, that sounds like a motivational speech for vegetables. I’m sure you know what I mean!!

4 thoughts on “Quick Lunch: Roasted Aubergine, Sweet Potato and Green Leaves

  1. Meenakshi says:

    I love how you wrote that line- let the flavours be true to themselves! I am a big fan of simple cooking and subtle tastes. Aubergines are great…they can be quite mealy and filling. In Indian cooking we tend to get carried away with spices and forget what an aubergines really tastes like. I love the background of your site!

Leave a Reply

