Exmouth Coffee Company, Whitechapel

 

 

 

Right next door to the Whitechapel art gallery is Exmouth Coffee Company. I recently went there to meet friends and loved it. There are so many independent coffee shops opening up! When will it end?! I’m not complaining, I love these places and am relieved that there are so many around now that it is easy to avoid chain coffee shops which I don’t rate at all. The interior of this dinky place (by SCID) is just how I like it – a mixture of surface textures, contrasting tiles next to bare brickwork, classic black and white hexagonal tiled flooring, wrought iron table stands with wooden tops and an open kitchen at the back with staff carrying plates of scrumptious looking paninis, muffins and quiches past. My friends must have thought me so rude, I barely made eye contact with them while we were talking because of all the colourful tasty temptations being wafted in front of me as they headed to the food counter. The food is displayed beautifully on rough edged slate plates propped on logs. I had a latte and a quiche – both delish. The staff are friendly and the atmosphere relaxed but efficient.

You can find the Exmouth Coffee Company at 83 Whitechapel High Street, E1 7QX.

Leave a Reply

